BIG NEWS

June 17, 2015

I have a literary agent!!!

Long-time readers of this blog might remember that I write YA fiction in my spare time (or what passes for spare time–i.e. my long-ass commute between Upper Manhattan and Brooklyn).

Some time ago, I completed a manuscript, queried it when it wasn’t ready, put it away, worked on something else, and then realized, HEY THAT OTHER THING I WROTE? WELL, I FINALLY KNOW HOW TO MAKE IT GOOD!

Writing: it’s a process, and sometimes it needs to percolate in your brain before it’s right.

And, today, I’m SUPER EXCITED to announce that I’ve signed with Eric Smith of P.S. Literary Agency. Eric is AWESOME! For one thing, he’s hilarious on Twitter and he writes wonderfully enthusiastic emails (though I don’t think he uses ALL CAPS with the same abandon as I do). For another, he’s very tapped into YA (he’s also a YA writer) and has an unmatched love for the category. But, most importantly, he’s on the same page with me about revisions and  about things we think are essential to keep before the manuscript goes on submission.

So, YAY! I look forward to working with Eric on this and many other projects in the future!

One Response to “BIG NEWS”

  1. wow! so excited for you! such a weird coincidence to come across this scrolling through my reader because I just restarted my own query efforts yesterday. like you, I queried when my MS wasn’t ready. Have been revising for 3 long years and am finally back to querying again. so I can relate to your elation! best of luck with the agent. can’t wait to see your book in print. any hints as to topic? my daughter is 14, so publish it quick and I’ll read it with her! 🙂 congrats!

Leave a Reply

I Will Start This Blog. I Mean It!

Adventures in cranky essays and rhyming poetry from an unlikely single mom.

THIS IS DAHLIA'S BLOG

writer and educator focused on media and identity in contemporary film and television

The Seminar Table

learning / teaching / resisting

tressiemc

some of us are brave

modern disappointment.

A place to file your complaints. Submissions welcome.

Deb Werrlein

Writer/editor/tutor

As the Adjunctiverse Turns

cheeky, no respect for academia

A Post-Academic in NYC

The PhD and Everything After

pan kisses kafka

Wovon man nicht schweigen kann, darüber muss man sprechen.

when the devil leaves his porchlight on

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

