Really? Whooping Cough?

November 20, 2013

Most of what I would write here is better covered by Julia Ioffe’s “I’ve got whooping cough. Thanks, Jenny McCarthy.” In some weird coincidence, I happened to read that article when I had been coughing for about a week. I thought, “Maybe this cough is pertussis. No, shut up, hypochondriac. It’s just a cold.” After three weeks of nonstop coughing, I thought, “Maybe you should actually go to the damned doctor.” I did, and I’m not a hypochondriac at all but really and truly do have pertussis.

While I have yet to pee myself or throw up from coughing, I can say this: get vaccinated. It wasn’t until 2005 that the CDC even had a booster pertussis vaccine for adults, but it’s worth it to not have this hellish, unceasing, rib-breaking cough. My head and neck muscles ache from constant coughing, and I feel completely drained of energy. YOU DO NOT WANT THIS.

Also, since this is usually a blog concerned with either music (it’s been a while, eh?) or higher ed, here’s something of note:

Unlike many other adjuncts, I have health insurance through my spouse. Today’s visit involved a $25 copay and $68.95 for drugs. It’s still a lot of money to shell out when you earn what I do, but I’ll be OK. If I were uninsured, the visit would cost $125 for seeing the doctor, additional fees for the albuterol nebulizer treatment I received while there, and I don’t even want to know how much the steroids, antibiotics, and emergency inhaler would cost. 

 

 

 

 

One Response to “Really? Whooping Cough?”

  1. […] insurance. As last week’s blog posts on whooping cough and infertility attest, good health insurance is important. I know that a lot of people don’t […]

Leave a Reply

I Will Start This Blog. I Mean It!

Adventures in cranky essays and rhyming poetry from an unlikely single mom.

THIS IS DAHLIA'S BLOG

writer, educator, and performer focused on media, identity, and sexuality

The Seminar Table

learning / teaching / resisting

tressiemc

some of us are brave

modern disappointment.

A place to file your complaints. Submissions welcome.

Deb Werrlein

Writer/editor/tutor

As the Adjunctiverse Turns

cheeky, no respect for academia

A Post-Academic in NYC

The PhD and Everything After

pan kisses kafka

Wovon man nicht schweigen kann, darüber muss man sprechen.

when the devil leaves his porchlight on

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

