Anger Is an Energy, but Sometimes I Have Hope

September 4, 2008

I have not been so angry at any time in recent memory as I am right now after Sarah Palin’s speech last night.  But I’m in no mood to be articulate about that anger, and I don’t even think that if I were in the mood I could, at this point, be articulate.  And I am tired–so tired–of being this angry about politics, of listening to angry political music to abate my angry political disappointments.

So, I am reminding myself not only of the deep connection between popular music and politics, but also of the great songs that are not jingoistic or knee-jerk political and that are about what makes this country great.  Here are five classics of hope.  And I do not mean “hope” in an instant gratification kind of way, but in a long-term, someday-this-will-be-fixed kind of way.

1. “A Change is Gonna Come.”  Sam Cooke (but I also like the Otis Redding cover… certainly not a bad cover version!).  One of the most beautiful songs of the Civil Rights era, supposedly inspired by #4 in this list.  Prior to this song, Cooke wrote ballads and pop songs; after, he turned towards Civil Rights activism.

2.  “People Get Ready.”  The Impressions.  Uses religious imagery in a way that does not make me automatically shout, “Separation of church & state!”  Mostly because it’s not saying, “God is going to smite you!” but rather, “We will be delivered from this suffering.”

3. “We Shall Overcome.” Traditional, but popularized by Pete Seeger, who credits Guy Carawan (my SF roommate Heather’s dad!) with the nice little rhythmic twist in the song.  Seeger also added a verse to the song.

4. “Blowin’ in the Wind.” Bob Dylan (but performed by Peter, Paul, and Mary).  Sure, it might rip off the African-American spiritual “No More Auction Block for Me,” but it’s one of those songs that presents Bob Dylan at his best, writing in poetic, yet understandable language.  It’s at once depressing–because the answer seems to be “forever,” but also suggestive that it’s obvious to fix the problems at hand.

5. “Free Your Mind (And Your Ass Will Follow).” Funkadelic.  Yes, it’s basically a very long, very high song with no clear political message.  But, you know, freeing your mind is pretty damned important.

Notably, all these songs are from no later than the 1960s.  I tried very hard to include more recent music, but most of the political stuff from my lifetime seems too damned angry, not as hopeful.  And I was really hoping (ha!) that this election could be about hope, and not a bunch of dishonest mud-slinging.  And so I try to think of last week, rather than this one, and think, “A Change is Gonna Come.”  Someday.

P.S.  My favorite jingoistic American song?  “Round & Round Hitler’s Grave,” the Almanac Singers.

6 Responses to “Anger Is an Energy, but Sometimes I Have Hope”

  1. Sam Cooke is one of my musical idols. I love his voice – when very young, I bought a K-tel collection of his greatest hits because I liked “Chain Gang,” and I have loved him ever since.

    I can do a passable “badcoverversion” of Chain Gang, Cupid, You Send me, and… A Change is Gonna Come…

    And I share the deep, pulsing inarticulate anger. Need to find that Funkadelic LP (still have a turntable hooked up for such occasions).

    DNW

  2. Agent M said

    You’re playing these songs for me tonight.

  3. badcoverversion said

    Wish I could play them tonight…. Wait! I can. They’re still on the iPod.

    The only one I don’t have is “We Shall Overcome,” which is mainly in my head. I do wish I had Heather’s beautiful movie about her parents (which she did for her MFA in film), which features her dad and other people doing the song.

  4. […] Anger Is an Energy, but Sometimes I Have Hope « 5 political songs for hope in a time when ever… – … "4. “Blowin’ in the Wind.” Bob Dylan (but performed by Peter, Paul, and Mary). Sure, it might rip off the African-American spiritual “No More Auction Block for Me,” but it’s one of those songs that presents Bob Dylan at his best, writing in poetic, yet understandable language. It’s at once depressing–because the answer seems to be “forever,” but also suggestive that it’s obvious to fix the problems at hand." […]

  5. […] January 20, 2009 For today’s very special event, Ryan and I thought we’d post some songs that would apply to the grand changing of the guard.  Some time ago, when it looked less likely that Obama would make it this far, I posted a list of songs that gave me hope. […]

  6. Dave C said

    Well, I’ll toss this one out here, since it fits with your list more than Ryan’s.

    Buffalo Springfield – Something Happening Here
    CSNY (NEIL Young Really) Toy Soldiers
    War – Edwin Star
    Don’t stop me know – queen
    and as a late addition Viva la vida – Coldplay
    I swear, that entire Album can be applied to the fall of Bush.

    Thanks, Elizabeth!

Leave a comment

I Will Start This Blog. I Mean It!

Adventures in cranky essays and rhyming poetry from an unlikely single mom.

thisisdahlia.wordpress.com/

musings on film, television, music, gender, identity, and everything in between...

The Seminar Table

learning / teaching / resisting

Alexandre Afonso

Leiden University

modern disappointment.

A place to file your complaints. Submissions welcome.

As the Adjunctiverse Turns

cheeky, no respect for academia

A Post-Academic in NYC

The PhD and Everything After

when the devil leaves his porchlight on

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.