Pop flotsam, or why I started this blog

August 21, 2008

I’m starting a blog for my non-academic musings on popular music.  While I spend most of my time thinking and writing about music, very few people care to read dense, academic prose, and, quite frankly, I don’t blame them.  So, in order to share my wisdom (ha!), or at least my thoughts on Rick-rolling, great albums that never got the audience they deserved, and the weird encounters that I have every day with pop music, I’ve started this blog.  Because while I consistently *want* to mention that early one morning I saw a middle-aged African-American man rolling down Fordham Road in a blue minivan and singing at the top of his lungs to a remix of “Never Gonna Give You Up,” I just can’t find a place for live-action Rick-rolling in my academic work.

There’s no guarantee that this blog will find a wider audience than an academic paper does at a conference, but now I have a place for the things I think about throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

I Will Start This Blog. I Mean It!

Adventures in cranky essays and rhyming poetry from an unlikely single mom.

THIS IS DAHLIA'S BLOG

writer and educator focused on media and identity in contemporary film and television

The Seminar Table

learning / teaching / resisting

tressiemc

some of us are brave

modern disappointment.

A place to file your complaints. Submissions welcome.

Deb Werrlein

Writer/editor/tutor

As the Adjunctiverse Turns

cheeky, no respect for academia

A Post-Academic in NYC

The PhD and Everything After

pan kisses kafka

Wovon man nicht schweigen kann, darüber muss man sprechen.

when the devil leaves his porchlight on

Just another WordPress.com weblog

WordPress.com

WordPress.com is the best place for your personal blog or business site.

